Capitol by Night

I took this while on the Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour with Old Town Trolley Tours in Washington, DC this past spring. We didn’t get out to take pictures here, so I was pretty excited when this one came out clear! DC is one of my absolute favorite cities I’ve visited. We are currently cultivating a plan to move to DC in the next few years, and I couldn’t be more excited. It helps that my best friend lives there, too! =)

I have a story about this tour. My husband and I were visiting my best friend and we wanted to do something touristy that she had not done before. Enter Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley. It was supposed to last 2 hours so we figured we’d be fine to grab dinner afterwards and metro home. BOY were we wrong! Our tour guide kidnapped us for the better part of 3 and a 1/2 hours. It was COLD, we were STARVING, and it was LATE when we finally got done. We ran in at a pub near Union Station to grab dinner, scarfed down our food, and the RAN to the nearest Metro station. We caught the first train, RAN to our next platform, but missed the last connection of the night and wound up taking a taxi home. We were all grumpy and exhausted at the time, but I can laugh about it now. Note to self: Don’t do nighttime things in DC on a weeknight and expect to take the metro home.

Leave a Reply

